17th March, 2003
Ministry of Tourism & Culture


The President, Shri A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, will confer the Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2002 on Bharatiya Vidhya Bhavan for propagating gandhian philosophy and values in a function at Ashoka Hall in Rashtrapati Bhawan. The prestigious award carries Rs. 1 crore in cash and a citation.

Established in the year 1938 by Dr. K.M. Munshi with the blessings of Mahatma Gandhi and with the support of several stalwarts of India’s freedom movements, Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan has made significant contribution towards the spread of education, integration of the best of ancient and modern values and promotion of peace and harmony among all faiths and communities through its over 100 centres in India and seven overseas, Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan brings out a vast range of publications on philosophy, indology, scriptures, modern life and Gandhian thinking. Its journals in English, Hindi and Gujarati are devoted to life, literature and culture and promotion of Inter Faith Harmony. Through its Gandhi Centre for Science and Human values, it has taken up the exemplary task of publishing small books at affordable price on issues relating to the development of human values. Through its Gandhi Institute of Computer Education & Information Technology it imparts free computer education and unemployed youth belonging to the weaker sections of society.

The decision regarding the awardee was taken by the jury headed by Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee. Other jury members include leader of opposition in Lok Sabha, the Chief Justice of India, Shri R.Venkatraman, former President of India and Shri I.K.Gujral, former Prime Minister of India.

Previously the award has been conferred to Dr.Julius K.Nyerere, Former President of Tanzania, Dr.A.T.Ariyaratne, Founder President of Sarvodaya Movement in Sri Lanka, Dr.Grehard Fischer (Federal Republic of Germany), Ramakrishna Mission (India), Baba Amte, Dr.Nelson Mandela, Former President of South Africa, Grameen Bank of Bangladesh and Mr.John Hume (Ireland).

[previous release] [next release]
Press Releases

English Releases
Hindi Releases
Urdu Releases
Ministrywise Releases

  Today's Photogallery
Photo Archives
English Features
Hindi Features
  Contact Information
About us
Subscribe PIB Releases
Accredited Journalists
Important Links
Pesident's Office
Prime Minister's Office
Indian Parliament
Media Units
DD News
AIR News
GOI Website Directory