Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Railways
08-October-2014 17:58 IST
Railway Sports Persons Bagged 12 Medals at Asian Games-2014 Held in South Korea


In the recently concluded Asian Games held at Incheon, South Korea; Indian Railways with the contingent of 72 athletes and 9 coaches formed a sizeable component of the Indian Team. 26 Athletes from Indian Railways won medals in total of 12 events. Out of 57 Medals won by India, Railway bagged 12 Medals. 


The names of the Gold medal winners are –

Women 4x400 Relay                 - Ms. Priyanka Pawar, Tintu Luka

Hockey (Men)                            -Shri Chinglensana Singh Kangujam

Kabaddi (Men)                          -Shri Manjeet Chillar, Rakesh Kumar

Kabaddi (Women)                     -Ms. Kavita, Ms. Mamta, Ms. Tejeswini Bai

The names of the Silver Medal winners are-

Women 800 M               - Ms. Tintu Luka

Women Hammer Throw            - Ms. Manju Bala

Men's Freestyle 61 Kg   - Shri Bajrang

And the names of the Bronze Medal winners are-

Women 1500 M                   - Ms. O.P. Jaisha

Women 3000 M Steeplechase- Ms. Lalita Shivaji Babbar

Women Jevelin Throw        - Ms. Annu Rani

Men's 50M Breaststroke                  - Shri Sandeep Sejwal

Hockey (Women)        - Ms. Deep Grace Ekka, Ms. Deepika, Ms. Sunita Lakra, Ms. Namita   Toppo, Ms. Sushila Chanu, Ms. Amandeep Kaur, Ms. Chanchan Devi Thokchom, Ms. Rani, Ms. Poonam Rani, Ms. Vandana Katariya, Ms. Navjot Kaur


The performance of railway athletes (Athletics) and women hockey players in particular has been remarkable.  Indian Railway’s athletes (Athletics) have contributed one Gold, two Silver and three Bronze Medals. Ms. The special mention needs to be made of the outstanding performance of Indian Railways Athlete Ms. Tintu Luka who won Silver Medal in 800 M, along with Gold Medal in 4x400 Relay where she partnered with another Railway athlete Ms Priyanka pawar.

Shri Rakesh Kumar who is also the captain of the kabaddi team, Shri Manjeet Chillar and Ms. Tejeswani Bai formed the part of the gold medal winning team in 2010 Asian Games also.

In the Indian Hockey (Women) team, which won the Bronze Medal 11 players of the total 16 players are from Indian Railways.

Out of 81 sportspersons of Indian Railways, 26 i.e more than ¼ of all have the medal winning performance. The coaches from Indian Railways formed the part of Indian Contingent are Ms. P.T. Usha, Shri Virender Poonia (Athletics), Shri Kuldeep (Wrestling), Shri Jaidev Bisth, Sagar Mal Dhayal (Boxing), Ms Tingongleima Chanu (Hockey), Shri Vijaydeep Singh (Badminton), Ms. Neeta (Kabadd) and Ms. Vaishali Phadtare (Volleyball). 




Click here to see photo: