Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports
24-August-2005 18:5 IST
Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards 2003 - 04

The Members of the Central Selection Committee for the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards (2003 & 2004) met on 18.08.2005 to select the Awardees.

            The following persons have been selected for conferment of Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards for the years 2003 & 2004:-

For 2003

1.         Shri Harish Kapadia                   (Life Time Achievement)

2.         Nb. Sub.Amar Prakash               (Land Adventure)

3.         Shri Mayur J. Mehta                   (Water Adventure)

For 2004

4.         Shri Mohan Singh Gunjyal          (Life Time Achievement)

5.         Shri Nadre Sherpa                                  (Land Adventure)

6.         Wg. Cdr. Jayashankar                (Air Adventure)

Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards, along with the Arjuna Awards etc., will be given away by the President of India in a function at Rashtrapati Bhavan on 29th August, 2005.       

            Government of India instituted the National Adventure Awards (renamed as Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards) in 1993 with the aim of promoting adventure activities on Land, Air and Water.  These Awards are at par with the Arjuna Awards and carry cash Award of Rs.3.00 lakhs. Up to the year 2002, 57 Adventure Awards have been given.

            The objectives of the Awards are:-

  1. To recognize the achievements of persons in the fields of adventure.
  1. To encourage young people to develop the spirit of endurance, risk – taking, cooperative teamwork and quick, ready and effective reflexes in challenging situations.
  1. To provide incentive to the young people for getting exposed to the adventure activities.

            For consideration of Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards for 2003 and 2004 nominations were called for from the State Governments, Adventure wings of Army, Navy, Air Force, ITBP and other reputed Adventure Institutions.  41 nominations were received by the Government for the above awards.