Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Defence
02-May-2017 20:08 IST
‘Wall of Valour’ IN Educational Institutions Launched

With the inspiration of Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi, to help create a spirit of respect for our real heroes, Minister of Human Resource Development Shri Prakash Javadekar and Minister of State for Defence Dr. Subhash Bhamre jointly launched a campaign to have a ‘Wall of Valour’ in 1,000 educational institutions across the country, here today. Portraits of Param Vir Chakra (PVC) decorated soldiers will be displayed at designated places on educational campuses to instil sense of nationalism among the students. This is part of a nationwide ‘Vidya Veerta Abhiyan’, initiated by writer and former Rajya Sabha member Shri Tarun Vijay.

 Addressing the gathering, Shri Javadekar said, “We feel secure just because of the continuous vigil and alertness of our Armed Forces along the borders.” He stated, Armed Forces are our real post-Independence heroes while the freedom fighters who laid down their lives and faced atrocities for the cause of freedom are the natural heroes.

 Speaking on the occasion, Dr Bhamre appreciated the initiative to display portraits of 21 PVC awardees which will usher in spirit of patriotism among the youth of the nation.

 Referring to the mutilation of two jawans at Krishna Ghati Sector in Poonch Dr. Bhamre said, “The kind of brutality inflicted on our jawans is a dastardly act, which is sad for humanity and we cannot expect decency from the enemy across the border.” He also complimented our jawans for performing tireless duty away from their families braving the enemy bullets in difficult terrain. He assured the nation that our troops are capable of giving a befitting reply.

 Shri Javadekar and Dr Bhamre gave portraits of these gallant heroes to Vice Chancellors of Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), University of Delhi (DU), Jamia Millia Islamia (JMI). In addition, VCs of different universities, including Arunachal Pradesh and representative from Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Delhi also received portraits from them.

 On the occasion, Grenadier Yogender Singh Yadav and Rifleman Sanjay Kumar, both PVC awardees, shared their experiences and exemplary acts of valour during Kargil conflict.

 Following are the Param Vir Chakra recipients:

  • Major Somnath Sharma, 4 Kumaon, (Posthumous), 1947
  • Second Lieutenant Rama Raghoba Rane, Bombay Sappers, 1948
  • Company Havildar Major Piru Singh, 6 Rajputana Refiles, (Posthumous), 1948
  • Lance Naik Karam Singh, 1 Sikh, 1948
  • Naik Jadunath Singh, 1 Rajput, (Posthumous), 1948
  • Captain Gurbachan Singh Salaria, 3/1 Gorkha Rifles, (Posthumous), 1961
  • Major Shaitan Singh, 13 Kumaon, (Posthumous), 1962
  • Subedar Joginder Singh, 1 Sikh, (Posthumous), 1962
  • Major Dhan Singh Thapa, 1/8 Gorkha Rifles, 1962
  • Company Quartermaster Havildar Abdul Hamid, 4 Grenadiers, (Posthumous), 1965
  • Lieutenant Colonel A B Tarapore, Poona Horse, (Posthumous), 1965
  • Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon, 18 Squadron, (Posthumous), 1971
  • Major Hoshiar Singh, 3 Grenadiers, 1971
  • Second Lieutenant Arun Khetarpal, Poona Horse, (Posthumous), 1971
  • Lance Naik Albert Ekka, 14 Guards, (Posthumous), 1971
  • Major Ramaswamy Parameswaran, 8 Mahar, (Posthumous), 1987
  • Naib Subedar Bana Singh, 8 JAK LI, 1987
  • Grenadier Yogender Singh Yadav, 18 Grenadiers, 1999
  • Captain Vikram Batra, 13 Jammu and Kashmir Rifles, (Posthumous), 1999
  • Rifleman Sanjay Kumar, 13 Jammu and Kashmir Rifles, 1999
  • Lieutenant Manoj Kumar Pandey, 7/11 Gorkha Rifles (Posthumous), 1999