Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Railways
12-October-2017 18:36 IST
Shri D.K.Gayen appointed as New Member Staff Railway Board

Shri D.K.Gayen, has been appointed as new Member (Staff) Railway Board and ex officio Secretary to the Government of India to assume charge with effect from 11th October 2017. Shri Gayen, an officer of Indian Railway Service of Mechanical Engineers (IRSME) of 1979 batch, and is a Bachelor in Engineering in Mechanical Discipline from Maulana Azad National Institute of Technology in the year 1979.


Prior to this assignment, he was General Manager, East Central Railway, Hajipur. He worked as Chief Mechanical Engineer, South Eastern Railway. He has also worked in various important posts like Chief Safety Officer, Northeast Frontier Railway, Chief Rolling Stock Engineer, Eastern Railways & Chief Motive Power Engineer, Eastern Railways, Chief Workshop Manager, Jamalpur Workshop and Liluah Workshop. He has also worked as Divisional Railway Manager, Asansol and Mughalsarai Division respectively. He has served in the capacity of Director (Inspection and Liaison), RDSO, Lucknow.