Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Railways
06-November-2017 19:11 IST
Ministry of Railways provides information through Short Messaging Service (SMS) regarding status of delayed trains.

In initial phase of roll-out, all Rajdhani, Shatabdi, Tejas & Gatiman Trains have been covered.

The facility has become available from 3rd November, 2017.

              Ministry of Railways has commenced facility of information to passengers through Short Messaging Service (SMS) regarding status of trains running late by more than one hour. This facility has been made available from 3rd November 2017. Initially this facility  has been started for passengers booked on all Rajdhani, Shatabdi, Tejas and Gatimaan trains.

Type of train

Number of trains


46 (23 pairs)


52 (26 pairs)


2 (1 pair)


2 (1 pair)




          SMS giving status of late running is being sent to all the booked passengers. It will be of great use to those passengers who  are boarding the trains at intermediate stations so that they can reach the station in time for the train. SMS will be sent to passengers throughout their entire journey who had given their mobile numbers at the time of booking the ticket both for e-ticket and PRS (counter) ticket.