Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Textiles
12-December-2018 13:31 IST
Textile Mills under NTC

There are 23 operational mills managed by NTC. Five mills are operational   through JV Route, and 13 are non-operational mills. During the last ten years NTC has closed 11 unviable mills under ID Act as per sanctioned BIFR schemes MS-08 (9 in 2008-09, 1 each in 2009-10 and 2010-11). Out of these mills, 2 mills namely Finlay Mills, Mumbai and Minerva Mills, Bangalore relocated as Finlay Mills at Achalpur, Maharashtra and New Minerva Mills at Hassan, Karnataka respectively.

There are 1778 mills at present in the country in Government and private sector.

This information was given by the Minister of State of Textiles, Ajay Tamta, in a written reply in the Rajya Sabha today.