Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Defence
02-August-2011 12:24 IST
LCA Tejas
Initial Operational Clearance (IOC) for Light Combat Aircraft (LCA), Tejas has been completed in December 2010. So far, 1,659 flight tests have been completed.

LCA, Tejas Phase-ll Programme (Air Force version) was sanctioned in November 2001 at a cost'of Rs.3301.78 Cr. with Probable Date of Completion (PDC) of December 2008. The project is likely to be completed by December 2012 with an additional cost of Rs.2475.78 Cr. The additional cost is to meet the expanded scope of the programme, increased cost of materials, manpower, maintenance of facilities, etc.

Phased development approach has been changed to concurrent development approach. Annual Review by Raksha Mantri, Review by Secretary, Department of Defence R&D and Quarterly Review by Deputy Chief of Air Staff are being regularly carried out to check the delay in completion of project.

Indian Air Force has ordered 40 Tejas Mk-I aircraft (20 aircraft in IOC and 20 aircraft in FOC standard). Two aircraft will be ready by March 2012 for induction.

This information was given by Defence Minister Shri AK Antony in a written reply to Shri Uday Pratap Singh in Lok Sabha today.