Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change.
05-September-2011 16:21 IST
Declaration of Sensitive Area from The Environmental Point of View
The Government has notified eco-sensitive zones under the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 in respect of the following areas State-wise:

• Matheran (Maharashtra)
• Mahableshwar-Panchgani (Maharashtra)
• Doon Valley (Uttarakhand)
• Numaligarh (Assam)
• Aravalli (Haryana and Rajasthan)
• Murud-Janjira (Maharashtra)
• Dhanu Taluka (Maharashtra)
• Mount Abu and its surrounding region (Rajasthan)
• Area around Sultanpur National Park (Haryana)
• Dandi (Gujarat)

Draft notifications for declaration of eco-sensitive zones around National Parks and Sanctuaries and other areas under the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 have been issued in respect of the following state-wise:

• Kalesar National Park (Haryana)
• Kalesar Wildlife Sanctuary (Haryana)
• Khol Hi Raitan Wildlife Sanctuary (Haryana)
• Bir Shikargarh Wildlife Sanctuary (Haryana)
• Nahar Wildlife Sanctuary (Haryana)
• Chhilchhila Wildlife Sanctuary (Haryana)
• Abubshaher Wildlife Sanctuary (Haryana)
• Bhindawas Wildlife Sanctuary (Haryana)
• Khaparwas Wildlife Sanctuary (Haryana)
• Girnar Wildlife Sanctuary (Gujarat)
• Narayan Sarovar Sanctuary (Gujarat)
• Purna Wildlife Sanctuary (Gujarat)
• Balaram-Ambaji Wildlife Sanctuary (Gujarat)
• About 135 km stretch of river Bhagirathi from Gaumukh to Uttarkashi (Uttarakhand)

The Government has issued guidelines to facilitate the states/union territory Governments to identify areas for declaration of eco-sensitive zones around national parks and wild life sanctuaries.

This information was given by the Minister of State for Environment and Forests (independent charge) Shrimati Jayanthi Natarajan in a written reply to a question by Shri Ghanshyam Anuragi,Shri Premdas And Shri Ganesh Singh in Lok Sabha today.