Ministry of Information & Broadcasting09-December, 2004 11:13 IST
Goa to be the venue for the International Film Festival of India next year also – Jaipal Reddy



Announcing that the Goa will be the venue for the International Film Festival of India next year also, the Union Minister for Information & Broadcasting and Culture Shri S. Jaipal Reddy said here today that infrastructure facilities for this purpose need to be further augmented and expanded in the state. He was speaking at the closing ceremony of the 35th International Film Festival of India (IFFI-2004). He said that this Festival was a special event as for the first time it was held outside its traditional venues of film production centres as well as the capital city of Delhi.

The Minister said that the IFFI-2004 showcased as many as 175 films from 48 countries and even screened films which marked a tribute to film personalities like Shri Yash Johar. He particularly mentioned that the 24x7 cinema movie production initiative has proved to be a good platform to promote film making talent among youngsters. The initiative comprised of a workshop organized by the noted filmmaker Deb Benegal which was participated by 40 youngsters below 24 years selected from all over India to produce movies of short duration. The awards in this category were presented by Ms. Preity Zinta, noted film actress, who was also the guest of honour at the concluding function of 35th IFFI.

Earlier, Shri S.Jaipal Reddy presented the awards at the glittering function. The Iranian film ‘Beautiful City’ directed by Asghar Farhadi bagged the Golden Peacock and a cash prize of Rs. 5,00,000/- for best film by an Asian Director at the 35th International Film Festival of India (IFFI - 2004). Also, actor of the same film bagged Special Jury Award. The award in this category (Silver Peacock) for the most promising Asian Director went to Ekachai Uekrongtham for his film ‘Beautiful Boxer’ (Thailand). The Russian film ‘Old Women’ directed by Gennady Sidorov won the Special Mention of Jury Award.

The Chief Minister of Goa Shri Manohar Parrikar, in his address, gave an account of the efforts made by his government to involve all the sections of people of the state in making the festival a truly participatory one. He said that all efforts will be made to improve upon the facilities created for this purpose in the state.

The 11 day IFFI-2004 which began here on 29th November, 2004 showcased 15 films in the Asian Competition category which included two Indian films. Apart from the Asian Competition, the other sections like the ‘Cinema of the World’, ‘The Indian Panorama’, and ‘Retrospectives’ of various countries including Italy, Poland, Africa, Germany, Portugal, Canada, Egypt, Taiwan and Australia were also screened. A Retrospective of films of Ashok Amritraj, one of the most successful film producers of Indian origin in Hollywood was also screened.

A salient feature of the Festival was all India Premier of several films including “American Daylight” directed by Mr. Roger Christian, “Musafir” directed by Shri Sanjay Gupta and “Swapner Din” directed by Shri Budhadev Dasgupta and “Alisha” and “Sood” (both Konkani). There were also special screenings of “Chai Pani Etc.” directed by Shri Manu Grewal and “Hari Om” (India – France), directed by G.Bharat Bala.

A large number of people visited the Film Bazaar which was set up at the venue IFFI 2004 during the Festival. Film Bazaar, which was organized by Confederation of Indian Industry and National Film Development Corporation and inaugurated by the Minister of Information and Broadcasting, Shri S.Jaipal Reddy.

The eleven day (29th November to 9th December 2004) 35th International Film Festival concluded with the screening of the US film ‘Alexander’ directed by Mr. Oliver Stone. The Festival had opened with the screening of “Vanity Fair” which was directed by Ms. Mira Nair.

The five member international jury for Asian competition included Shri Mani Ratnam (Chairperson), besides Mr. Florian Gallenberger, Mr. Mahmoud Kabil, Ms. Irene Bignardi and Mr. Moussa Sena Absa (as members).
(Release ID :5545)