Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change. 04-March, 2013 16:03 IST
Creation of Tiger Reserves

The ‘in-principle’ approval has been accorded by the National Tiger Conservation Authority for creation of five new tiger reserves, and the sites are:, Pilibhit (Uttar Pradesh), Ratapani (Madhya Pradesh), Sunabeda (Odisha), Mukundara Hills (including Darrah, Jawahar Sagar and Chambal Wildlife Sanctuaries) (Rajasthan) and Satyamangalam (Tamil Nadu). Final approval has been accorded to Kudremukh (Karnataka) for declaring as a tiger reserve. This was stated by Shrimati Jayanthi Natarajan Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Environment and Forests, in the Lok Sabha today, in a written reply to a question by Shri E.G. Sugavanam.

The Minister further stated that the State Governments have been advised to send proposals for declaring the following areas as tiger reserves: (i) Bor (Maharashtra), (ii) Suhelwa (Uttar Pradesh), (iii) Nagzira-Navegaon (Maharashtra), (iv) Guru Ghasidas National Park (Chhattisgarh), (v) Mhadei Sanctuary (Goa) and (vi) Srivilliputhur Grizzled Giant Squirrel / Megamalai Wildlife Sanctuaries / Varushanadu Valley (Tamil Nadu). Under section 38V of the Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972, the State Government has the authority to notify an area as a tiger reserve.

RM/RS- USQ976 - LS
(Release ID :92889)