विज्ञप्तियां उर्दू विज्ञप्तियां फोटो निमंत्रण लेख प्रत्यायन फीडबैक विज्ञप्तियां मंगाएं Search उन्नत खोज
Quick Search
home Home
Releases Urdu Releases Photos Invitations Features Accreditation Feedback Subscribe Releases Advance Search
home  Printer friendly Page home  Email this page
English Release 23-November 2014
Date Month Year
  • President's Secretariat
  • Min of Defence
  • Coastal Security Network Must Ensure Zero Tolerance to Error: Parrikar
  • Min of Information & Broadcasting
  • 45TH IFFI Celebrates Dance in Indian Cinema
  • New Experiments in Documentaries Section
  • 45th IFFI Pays Retrospective Honours to Gulzar; Screens ‘Libas’
  • Cinema Means Love and Responsibility Not Business: Mohsen Makhmalbaf
  • Student Filmmakers are Promising and Full of Original Concepts: Prof. B. Diwakar
  • Min of Parliamentary Affairs
  • Government convenes all Party meet on CSAT exam issue
  • Prime Minister confident of a productive Winter Session of Parliament beginning tomorrow
  • Min of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions
  • Dr. Jitendra Singh receives cheque for J&K flood relief from PEPCO Bank
  • Min of Science & Technology
  • HPV option to prevent preterm births dangerous --Dr Harsh Vardhan

Previous Date

Ministry of Finance13-December, 2012 17:33 IST
Proposal to Operationalise DTAAs with 12 More Countries Under Process

India has entered into Double Taxation Avoidance agreements (DTAAs) with 84 countries. In addition, DTAAs have been signed with 3 countries, viz. Colombia, Uruguay & Ethiopia and will enter into force after completion of necessary formalities in these countries. Proposal to sign DTAAs with 12 more countries/jurisdictions is under process. These countries/jurisdictions are Albania, Bhutan, Chile, Croatia, Fiji, Hong Kong, Iran, Latvia, Senegal, Venezuela, Cuba and Macedonia.

The Government has also identified priority countries/jurisdictions for negotiation of Tax Information Exchange Agreements (TIEAs). At present, India has TIEAs with 9 jurisdictions viz. Bahamas, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Isle of Man, Jersey, Guernsey, Liberia and Macau which are in force. In addition, three more TIEAs have been signed with Argentina, Bahrain and Monaco which will enter into force after completion of necessary formalities in these countries/jurisdictions. The proposal to sign TIEAs with another 34 countries/jurisdictions is under process. These countries/jurisdictions are Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Barbados, Belize, Brunei Darussalam, Cook Islands, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Faroe Islands, Greenland, Grenada, Honduras, Jamaica, Montserrat, Peru, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sint Maarten, Turks and Caicos, Vanuatu, Argentina, Bahrain, Gibraltar, Liechtenstein, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Panama, Saint Kitts & Nevis and Seychelles.

All these DTAAs and TIEAs contain an Article on Exchange of Information under which India tax authorities can seek information about a taxpayer.

Information is regularly exchanged with the treaty/agreement partners and is forwarded to the field authorities for taking appropriate action. The information exchanged is governed by the confidentiality clause of the respective DTAA/TIEA.

This was stated by the Minister of State for Finance, Shri S.S. Palanimanickam in written reply to a question in the Rajya Sabha today.

* * *

(Release ID :90599)

Web Ratana This site is winner of Platinum Icon for 'Outstanding Web Content' Web Ratna Award'09 presented in April 2010
Site is designed and hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC),Information is provided and updated by Press Information Bureau
"A" - Wing, Shastri Bhawan, Dr. Rajendra Prasad Road, New Delhi - 110 001 Phone 23389338
Go Top Top

उपयोग संबंधी शर्तें स्वोत्वाधिकार नीति गोपनीयता संबंधी नीति हाइपरलिंकिंग नीति Terms of Use Copyright Policy Privacy Policy Hyperlinking Policy