Press Information Bureau
Government of India

12 March 2007
  Ministry of Human Resource Development  

  13:20 IST  
  Rajya Sabha

A Committee under the chairmanship of Prof. Yash Pal was constituted on 30.8.2006 to review the relevant Hindi textbooks published by NCERT in the light of certain objections raised regarding their contents and to recommend any improvement and revisions that might be considered necessary.  The other members of the Committee were:

1.                   Prof. Mrinal Miri;

2.                   Smt. Nirmala Deshpandey, Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha);

3.                   Miss Krishna Sobti, eminent Hindi writer;

4.                   Prof. U.R. Ananthamurthy, eminent Kannada writer; and

5.                   Shri Ashok Vajpeyi, former Vice-Chancelloer, Mahatma Gandhi International Hindi University.

The Committee submitted its report on 20.10.2006.  After considering the report of the Committee, the following action has been taken:

(i)      In the book Antara-I, the story ‘Apni Khabar’ by Pandeya Bechan Sharma Ugra has been replaced by story ‘Uski Maa’ written by the same author.  Similarly in the same book the poem ‘Mochiram’ by Dhoomil has been replaced by poem ‘Ghar Main Wapsi’ by the same author.

(ii)     In the book Aaroh-I the story ‘Doodh Ka Daam’ by Premchand has been replaced by the story ‘Namak Ka Daroga’ by the same author.

(iii)   In the book Aaroh-I, introduction to the poem by Paash has been modified.

This information was given by the Minister of State for Human Resource Development Shri M.A.A. Fatmi in a written reply in the Rajya Sabha today.