Press Information Bureau
Government of India

10 January 2005
  Ministry of Information & Broadcasting  

  12:10 IST  
  The Dada Saheb Phalke Award for the year 2003 has been conferred upon the noted filmmaker Shri Mrinal Sen. The Award is given by the Government of India for outstanding contribution in the field of Indian Cinema. The award would be presented by the President of India at the 51st National Film Awards function, which will be held on the 2nd of February, 2005. Shri Mrinal Sen has conveyed his acceptance of the award.

Shri Mrinal Sen, a well-known filmmaker, was born on 14th May 1923 in the town Faridpur, now in Bangladesh. He made his first feature film ‘Raat Bhore’ followed by ‘Neel Akasher Neechey’. He achieved national and international fame as Director of ‘Bhuvan Shome’ 1969. His film “Kharij” took home the jury prize in 1983 in the Cannes, Venice, Berlin, Karlovy Vary among others. Retrospectives of his films have been shown in many countries across the world. Shri Sen was a member of the National Film Development Corporation, Mumbai and was Chairman of Film and Televisition Institute of India, Pune. He had also been a member of Rajya Sabha from 1998 to 2003. Shri Sen was earlier awarded Padma Bhushan by the Government of India.