Press Information Bureau
Government of India

03 February 2005
  Ministry of Information & Broadcasting  


  14:24 IST  

The President of India, Dr A. P. J. Abdul Kalam presented the 51st national film Awards to winners of different categories at a function, last evening.  Noted filmmaker Shri Mrinal Sen received the Dada Saheb Phalke Award for the year 2003. The Dada Saheb Phalke Award, instituted in 1969, is given every year to a film personality for outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema. The Award consists of a Swarna Kamal, a Shawl and cash prize of Rs two lakhs.

In his address, the Minister of Information and Broadcasting, Shri S. Jaipal Reddy said that for a vast and culturally diverse country like India, it is most important that the cinematic ethos develops into a multidisciplinary medium that cuts across regional and language barriers so as to evolve a common language.  The Minister said, these awards have not only brought many a hidden talent to light but also helped in encouraging films from the regional languages that otherwise may perhaps not have come into national recognition.  He said, Indian filmmakers have contributed towards integration and cross-cultural pollination.  Shri Reddy said that the creative filmmakers have a great responsibility to ensure that religious and cultural distortions and misunderstandings do not creep into their films.  Our films must be above inspire and awaken this sense of common unity that would give a true and correct direction to the people of India, he added

The Best Feature Film Award for the year 2003 was given to Marathi film ‘’Shwaas’’. The Award carries a Swarna Kamal and Rs 50,000 each for Producer and Director of the film. Swarna Kamal and cash prize of Rs 40,000 each for Producer and Director for “Best Popular Film providing wholesale entertainment” was given to Hindi film “Munnabhai M B B S”. Nargis Dutt Award for the Best Feature Film on National Integration was presented to Hindi film, “Pinjar”. The Award carries Rajat Kamal and cash prize of Rs 30,000 each for Producer and Director of the film. Indira Gandhi Award for the Best First Film of a Director was given to Malayalam film, “Maargam”. The Award for the best film on other social issues such as prohibition, women and child welfare, anti-dowry, drug abuse, welfare of the handicapped etc., was given to the Hindi film, “Koi Mil Gaya”. The Award for the Best direction was bagged by Goutam Ghose (film Abar Aranye) for his complex weaving of human destinies across a wide range of socio-political and cinematic histories. Best Actor Award was given to Vikram for his role in “Pithamagan” while the Award for Best Actress was given to Meera Jasmine for her role in “Padam Onnu Oru Vilapam”. The Award for the Best Child Artist was jointly given to Ashwin Chitale and Kalidasan for their roles in film, “Shwaas” and “Ente Veedu Appontem”. The Award for the Best Male Playback Singer was given to Sonu Nigam and Best Female Playback singer to Tarali Sarma. The Special Jury Award was given to actor Manoj Bajpai for his portrayal in “Pinjar”, of the dilemma of a man caught between the dictats of his community and his love for his wife.  Saibal Chatterjee was presented the Best Film Critic award for incisive, bold and realistic criticism of the film industry couched in a refreshing style of writing.  In all, awards in 29 categories of the feature film section and 22 categories in non-feature section were presented.  Nine best regional language films were also given awards.